March 12, 2015

I’ve officially been in the hospital for a month, but it was February so it was the shortest month at least. If it wasn’t February maybe I wouldn’t have breached the month mark. I’m going home really soon though. My fingers are crossed for tomorrow. The dr. thinks I can go but the physiotherapist and occupational therapist want things in place first (wheelchair, walker, tub seat, etc.). I just want to be home. People keep asking me if I’m bored and the truth is I’ve been too sick to be bored. It’s only been 1 1/2 days that i’ve felt really better. In truth I can’t wait to be bored, at home! I’ll be able to read and write and play and cook and clean and visit with friends. It’ll be a great feeling to be bored. it will mean I’m healing.

Health is so fickle isn’t it? I keep thinking of myself as healthy, even though I have all these diseases (hypothyroidism, Addison’s Disease, Myasthenia Gravis and Celiac Disease). But I consider myself healthy still because I’m not overweight, I don’t smoke or drink (that much), I exercise and eat an organic vegetarian whole foods diet (most of the time), and because I’m young. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to be diagnosed with something preventable or something you could really blame yourself for, like cancer from smoking, liver damage from drinking, or kidney damage from poorly controlled diabetes. I don’t think I’m going to stop thinking of myself as healthy. I don’t want to be sick, and I won’t let these new diagnoses control my life.

Leave a Reply

