Christmas Eve

December 24, 2016

All I want for Christmas is enough energy for my sons memories of this special time of year to be positive. I’ve had a rough week – very bad chest pain that’s reduced my afternoons to naps that I just can’t make myself get up from. Each day I’ve had to put something off until the next, and I’ve felt the time slipping away. There are things that aren’t going to happen, things that I’ve given up on as a trade for energy to make it through the day. 

I have peace with the things I’ve given up through. I’ve prioritized my tasks, and put the utmost importance on being able to be present for the laughter and joy that’s happening in my house. This is personal growth, and I know my son will benefit from a mother who puts happiness and presence above the other Christmas “things” and events. 

Leave a Reply

